+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What GPS are you all using?

Hybrid View

Default What GPS are you all using?

What GPS are you all using?

Im currently just using my iPhone but want a dedicated GPS. Im going to use it for riding and hiking.

Id like one that I can upload maps and has a HR monitor included. Im not very tech savvy so I dont really know what to look for, I just know it needs to work with a Mac.

Any suggestions?

IPhone user here. I have a Garmin Etrex I haven't touched in nearly two years. I'll give you a killer deal. Shoot me a pm if it might work for ya, although there's no HR option.

For my use the Garmin accuracy doesn't gain me anything that justifies the need for carrying phone & gps. What are you currently using on your iPhone?

I have a hand held Garmin that I have been using...think its a 210 something or other. The apps I use are Motion X,Map My Tracks and CyclePro(I think thats what its called. What do you use Troutbum?

Quote Originally Posted by chaos View Post
    What do you use Troutbum?
    http://gpskit.garafa.com/GPS_Kit/Overview.html

I chose GPS Kit because it allows me to overlay trail networks onto maps. Having been new to my area, it was a great feature since I hadn't learned the trail systems yet. It does everything I need & I see no reason to change so far.

Thanks for the info...I'll look into it!

GPS Kit and Motion X are both decent. I have to agree that carrying a dedicated GPS is kinda pointless these day unless you are doing like a 6 hr trip where the phone's batt wont last.

I personally like Everytrail's better than both of those as it has some more advanced features (you have to dig to find them thou) and find the website and user interface better,.. mostly personal thou.