+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Otis Question

Hybrid View

Default Otis Question

Several months ago I read somewhere that there's a see saw at Otis. I've been riding there regularly for about 6 months now and haven't come across it. Can anyone point me to it?

Been gone for a while. It used to be right at the beginning (or end depending on which way you were going) of the little halfpipe over near 151. The base for the seesaw became a jump off the top of the halfpipe (for better technical riders than I) and the board was used to make nearby "Mr Big" rock a bit easier to get up on.

Thanks. I was wondering if there was an area I haven't found yet.

Be careful if you use the halfpipe and come in from the top and hit the "new" jump (about a month old now) at the bottom.
    The person who made this made it so you don't see the 4 foot deep hole behind the jump.
    When I hit the jump I wasn't going fast enough to clear the hole.
    So now I have a new helmet and a new bike and my head still hurts because of this hole.

I haven't been there since the spring so I'll wait to pass judgement, but it sounds like this new jump is poorly built and in a stupid spot, if I'm imagining it right. The halfpipe was quite fun as it was, sucks that people have to dig holes to build dumb jumps. Anyway, its fall, I'll be riding there soon and I won't hit it before I scope it out. Thanks for the warning shark.

Sorry about the header intershark - that really sucks.

Icecream - The jump has no effect on the "half pipe" (that name makes the spot sound way cooler than it is, but it gets the point across). I kind of doubt anyone would be able to hit it without scoping first because it's kind of off the trail - you really would need to know it's there in order to line it up because it's kind of an awkward line. Now that I'm thinking about it, maybe that's why intershark hit it so slowly. And maybe I'm just too old to hit something without looking at it first.